January 10

Success!! Couldn’t Wait to Share

Bubble science was always a favorite of my science classes. Creating frozen bubbles is a fun winter extension! I saw this activity on science websites, but I tried it without success last winter. I recently read the following tips to improve outcomes.

  1. Place the bubble solution in the fridge to chill the solution before you go outside. I also found it helpful to leave the solution outside for a period of time before you begin.
  2. Don’t blow into the bubble wands because your breath will warm the solution; Wave your wand instead.

I discovered that the bubbles adhered to some surfaces better than others. Click here for additional suggestions. Then wait for a day below freezing (the lower the temps, the better) and enjoy!

Temperatures were in the upper twenties when I investigated frozen bubbles, but my friend, Ellen (a kindred spirit), had even greater success in Louisville when the temperatures dropped to the single digits.


Posted January 10, 2022 by pbright2 in category Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*