March 11

The Little White Moth

On Winter walks in Atlanta, the only living creatures I am fortunate to encounter are deer, squirrels, and birds. But today near my path, I met a tiny moth. He didn’t seem able to fly, so perhaps he had just left his cocoon. I clearly annoyed him trying to capture a photo, and honestly, I didn’t think a photo of it would prove very interesting, but I was clearly wrong. When I enlarged the photo, how surprised I was to see not only a spring green abdomen, but green eyes peering back at me. I am perpetually amazed at the beautiful details in the small, even microscopic, creatures we just pass by.



Receiving the side eye because I continually poked my phone in its face!

 

Related Posts

Compound Eyes

Butterfly or Moth?

Tiny Perfect Things

Antennae


Posted March 11, 2024 by pbright2 in category Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*