February 7

What Do You Wonder?

Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder. (EB White) Wonder is the foundation for all learning.

While I was walking on the Greenway, I noticed that the trees on one side of the path, nearest the pond, had white markings that appeared to be sap. What is this I wondered? Why weren’t these markings on the pine trees that were growing on the other side of the sidewalk? Were they created by an animal, disease, or fungus? Why were these spots only near the bottom of the trunks?  What are your questions?

I’ve stopped and looked at this tree a few times over several months. What is growing at the base of the tree? I thought it might disappear when the temperatures dropped, but it actually seems a little larger. What do you think?

November

February

Time to do some research.


Posted February 7, 2024 by pbright2 in category Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*