May 2

Ladybug, Ladybug

I was given ladybugs, a natural predator and a gardener’s friend, when I purchased new plants for my garden at Pike’s Nursery. Written directions instructed that they be released in the morning or early evening and because they would be thirsty, near recently watered plants. It was further recommended that the container be placed on the ground and not shaken, so that the beetles would not fly away from the intended garden. Below are some of the photos I captured of them exploring their new environment. What do you notice about the number of spots on their outer wings?


On a recent walk, I also found the larval stage of ladybugs, as well as the pupal stage.

This larva ran right into a caterpillar who was out for a stroll.


Related Post

Ladybugs with links to stories and informative videos

Caterpillars


Posted May 2, 2024 by pbright2 in category Reading, Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*