April 8

Butterflies and Ladybugs

I purchased ladybug larvae and caterpillars (butterfly larvae) for my second grade scientists just before we began virtual learning. They were in the middle of their invertebrate unit, and we were going to observe the four stages of metamorphosis- egg, larva, pupa, and adult. Two of my biologists took the caterpillars home and documented the changes they observed. Then, they released the painted lady butterflies. Click here to watch the process. Click here to learn more about metamorphosis.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just released the ladybugs after they completed metamorphosis. Click here to learn more about ladybug metamorphosis. So disappointed that my second grade students weren’t there!


Posted April 8, 2020 by pbright2 in category Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*