June 26

Urban Gardens

No matter where we each live, there is always room for a garden! Perhaps the greatest need is in those places where concrete and steel have replaced the natural landscape. These picture books feature urban gardens:

One Little Lot – Charlesbridge

Uncle John's City Garden (Hardback or Cased Book) - Picture 1 of 1

Me, Toma and the Concrete Garden (Hardcover)

The Gardener occurs during the Depression and is arranged in a letter-writing format.

My backyard is shaded, and I have searched for a means to compactly grow herbs on my sunny deck. This slanted step garden box is on my wish list. Perfect for a small space too!

Walking a city block lined with window boxes brings me joy!



In a previous post, I also mentioned Flower Garden, a story in which a father helps his daughter create a window box for her mother.


Watch full screen here.

If the space outside for growing is restricted, try using food scraps to create a kitchen garden. Let me know in the comments if you try any of these ideas. Go here to watch full screen.


Posted June 26, 2023 by pbright2 in category Reading, Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*