December 27

Chestnuts Roasting

While I was in France last fall, I saw chestnut trees growing throughout the grounds of the chateaus, as well as in parks. These large deciduous trees are easily identifiable by the brown shelled nut that is enclosed in spiky burs. I was especially interested because you rarely see chestnut trees in the United States. Why? Go here for a previous post with the answer.

“Chestnuts roasting on an open fire” are lyrics in The Christmas Song, a familiar holiday carol, but I’ve never roasted chestnuts. Go here to view full screen.

I was hoping to find chestnuts roasting at the Christmas Market in Washington D.C., but no luck. I did taste some chestnuts my daughter purchased at Whole Foods.



Posted December 27, 2023 by pbright2 in category Holiday, Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*