January 2

Owl Sighting

I always look for owls on my walks in the woodlands. I’ve not seen one, but my neighbors spotted this beauty outside their window just a few days ago. What an unexpected gift! I hope he visits me next. (Photos by Gabrielle and Daphne.)

Go here to learn more about barred owls.

On a recent visit to Chattahoochee Nature Center, I watched a pair of rescued barred owls.

Go here and here for a lab about owl pellets. (Order them for school or home.)

Go here for a previous lab about owls and links to Owl Moon, a favorite winter owl story.

Go here for a lab about silent flight.

Learn more about the characteristics of owls in the videos below. Go here to view full screen. Vocabulary: nocturnal, predator, prey, talons, pellet, carnivore, and snag.

A wise old owl lived in an oak,
The more he saw, the less he spoke.
The less he spoke, the more he heard,
Now, wasn’t he a wise old bird?

(Author Unknown)

There are so many fun ways to make owls. Use small cupcake liners for eyes. Tearing paper is a great way to develop small muscles in young hands. Let children cut out the feet and beaks.

Photo from carrotsareorange.com

Owl BabiesĀ is always a favorite. Go here to watch full screen.

Gail Gibbons is one of my favorite non-fiction authors for children.

Owls - Paperback By Gibbons, Gail - GOOD - Picture 1 of 1


Posted January 2, 2024 by pbright2 in category Art, Reading, Science

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*